Welcome to SAAS

 

If you are working on your Ph.D. Dissertation, check out our new


DOCTORAL SEMINAR

 

 


 

Open Yale Courses

 

Free access to courses taught by distinguished teachers and scholars at Yale University.

 


 

Chuck Palahniuk: Fight Club, Invisible Monsters, Choke (2013). Ed. by Francisco Collado.

 

Collado-Palahniuk


A Contested West: New Readings of Place in the American West (2013), Ed. by M. Simonson, D. Río and A. Ibarrarán

 

Raigadas-West


Unsteadily Marching On: The US South in Motion (2013), Ed. by Constante González Groba

 

Constante-South


Women in Transit Through Literary Liminal Spaces (2013), Ed. T. Gómez Reus & Terry Gifford

 

Reus-Women

 


De-Centring Cultural Studies (2013), Ed. by Patricia Bastida Rodríguez et al.

 

Bastida-Decentring


 

XIV SAAS CONFERENCE

"The Image and the Word: Interactions between American Literature, Media, Visual Arts and Film"

SALAMANCA, APRIL 9-11, 2019

UNIVERSIDAD DE SALAMANCA

Call for PAPERS

1)Gender and Genre in American Literature: Women Authors and Their Perception of the Gender/Genre Intersection
Panel Chair: Aleksandra Nikčević-Batrićević, University of Montenegro .
E-mail: alexmontenegro@t-com.me

2) " The Image and the Word in Early America"
Panel Chair: José Manuel Correoso Rodenas, Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha
E-mail: JoseManuel.Correoso@uclm.es  

3) "Multimodal Perspectives on Group Identity-building in American TV and Film"
Panel Chair: Amanda Gerke. Universidad de Salamanca
E-mail: aegerke@usal.es  

4) "Aging Men and Masculinities in Contemporary U.S. Culture: Literary and Film Representations"
Panel Chair: Josep M. Armengol-Carrera. Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha
E-mail: josemaria.armengol@uclm.es  

5) "Imaging the Sound: The Role of Soundscape and Soundscape Studies in (Re)Framing the Visual"
Panel Chair: Alessandra Calanchi. University of Urbino, Italy
E-E-mail: alessandra.calanchi@uniurb.it  

6) "Human and Technological Eyes in the Narrative Construction of the Posthuman"
Panel Chair: Francisco Collado Rodríguez, Universidad de Zaragoza
E-mail: fcollado@unizar.es  

7) "Drawing the Line: Illustrating US Classics of the Nineteenth Century"
Panel Chair: María Ángeles Toda Iglesia, Universidad de Sevilla
E-mail: mtoda@us.es  

8) "And the Word became Celluloid, and Dwelt Among Us: Hollywood and the American Novel"
Panel Chair: Dan Fyfe, Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
E-mail: daniel.fyfe@ulpgc.es  

9) "The American West and Its Representation in Media and the Visual Arts"
Panel Chair: Ángel Chaparro Sainz, Universidad del País Vasco
E-mail: angel.chaparro@ehu.eus  

10) "Blurred Boundaries: The Notion of the Human and the Definition of Storytelling in the Age of the Posthuman"
Panel Chair: Sonia Baelo. Universidad de Zaragoza
E-mail: baelo@unizar.es 

11) "Western Images and Words: The American West and Film"
Panel Chair: Jesús Ángel González, Universidad de Cantabria
E-mail: gonzalezja@unican.es  

12) "Aliens in North America: Images of Exiles and Migratory Phenomena"
Panel Chair: María Luz Arroyo Vázquez, UNED
E-mail: larroyo@flog.uned.es  

13) "The Lyric Sensorium in American Poetry"
Panel Chair: Jeffrey Simons, Universidad de Huelva
E-mail: simons@uhu.es  

14) "Edgar Allan Poe and the Image: Interactions between Poetry and the Visual Arts"
Panel Chair: Santiago Rodríguez Guerrero-Strachan, Universidad de Valladolid
E-mail: guerrero@fyl.uva.es

15) "Unveiling the Limits of Our ‘Quest for Authenticity’. Visual Aesthetics: Afrofuturism, Gender, and the African Diaspora"
Panel Chair: Silvia Castro Borrego, Universidad de Málaga
E-mail: scb@uma.es  

16) "An Uncomfortable Truth: Women's Autofiction in American Literature and Media"
Panel Chair: Rebeca Gualberto Valverde, Universidad Complutense de Madrid
E-mail: rgualberto@ucm.es  

17) "9/11 – An Image Which Continues to Shape Twenty-first-Century United States Culture"
Panel Chair: Clair A. Sheehan, University of Limerick, Ireland
E-mail: clair.sheehan@ul.ie

18) "On the Screen as on the Stage: Film and Theater Interplays and the (Fe)Male Gaze"
Panel Chair: Noelia Hernando Real, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid
E-mail: noelia.hernando@uam.es  

19) "Intersections between Animality, Disability and Affect Studies in American Fiction"
Panel Chair: Diana Villanueva Romero, Universidad de Extremadura
E-mail: dvillanv@unex.es  

20) "Melville's Architectures: Ekphrasis, Structures, and Orientations of 'the Domestic'"
Panel Chair: Rodrigo Andrés, Universitat de Barcelona
E-mail: rodrigoandres@ub.edu

21) "Poetry between Pleasure and Protest: Theory and Practice"
Panel Chair: Thomas Austenfeld, University of Fribourg
E-mail: thomas.austenfeld@unifr.ch 

22) "Woody Allen"
Panel Chair: Eusebio de Lorenzo Gómez, Universidad Complutense de Madrid
E-mail: delorenzo@filol.ucm.es

23) "Trauma and Literature"
Panel Chair: Asli Tekinay, Bogazici University
E-mail: tekinay@boun.edu.tr  

24) "Better to Fail in Originality Than to Succeed in Imitation': Herman Melville's Dialogue with Literature, Visual Arts and Film"
Panel Chair: María Laura Arce Álvarez, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid
E-mail: laura.arce@uam.es 

25) "Creative Ceremonies: Native Americans and the Power of Word and Image"
Panel Chair: Silvia Martínez Falquina, Universidad de Zaragoza
E-mail: smfalqui@unizar.es 

26) "Rude Color of What an Amazing World": Avante-Garde Art and American Poetry "
Panel Chair: Viorica Patea, Universidad de Salamanca
E-mail: vioricap@usal.es 

27) Micellanea
Panel Chairs: Viorica Patea, Eulalia Piñero
E-mail: vioricap@usal.es; eulalia.pinero@uam.es  

-- FULL PANELS
View the list of Full Panels and Talk-Shops already accepted for the Conference 

 

 

DOCTORAL SEMINAR

Doctoral Students: Send us your proposals for the Felix Martín Doctoral Seminar